~ kusala
[ ku-sa-la: Pali term meaning wholesome, skillful, good, meritorious. ]
[ Action characterized by this quality (kusala-kamma) is bound to result (eventually) in happiness and a favorable outcome. ]
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

kusala.diaryland.com

2004-07-09 - 5:10 p.m.

2.5-weeks in, and the numbers are... drum roll...

CD-4: 350

VL: undetectable!

I'm amazed. I didn't realize it happened so fast, since the literature says "viral load should drop to undetectable within 90 days".

Still having severe upper back/arm pain, but was taken off the Combivir part of the cocktail on Tuesday under the assumption that the AZT component was causing some kind of muscle irritation/damage (myositis? mitochondrial toxicity?).

Staying on Sustiva and the Epivir, but rotating in "Videx" in place of the AZT.

Must say I'm gunshy about the new regimen, mainly because I don't want a resurgence of this pain. I'll keep my fingers crossed though, and I'm hoping this ache subsides. Also taking supplements of Carnitine, an amino acid that purportedly helps heal muscle damage. Vicodin for the past two nights hasn't done "jack" for helping me get any rest; the pain seems to grow worse as the night wears on, until I just can't stay in bed anymore. Have been getting up at 4am or 5am lately, which is certainly interesting. Had enough time to cook myself a nice potato-egg-and-sausage breakfast this morning. Getting to work EARLY has been quite the concept...for me and for the office mates.

We'll see what tonight brings.


= = = = = = = = = = =
previous entry
next entry