~ kusala
[ ku-sa-la: Pali term meaning wholesome, skillful, good, meritorious. ]
[ Action characterized by this quality (kusala-kamma) is bound to result (eventually) in happiness and a favorable outcome. ]
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

kusala.diaryland.com

2005-01-25 - 11:09 a.m.

Pass the Statuette

Though I agree with Huntington that Paul Giamatti wuz robbed, I practically want to kiss (or at least send a bouquet to) Sophie Okonedo of Hotel Rwanda, which I just saw Friday night. I thought she was great. Some might say the movie itself was a bit melodramatic... but hey, I'm amazed it got made at all in the great big world of film. Ditto my feelings of joy over Catalina Sandino Moreno of Maria Full of Grace.

And though I don't know the details, I'd point out that for some reason having to do with the arcane intricacies of Oscar reglas, La Mala Educaci�n was ineligible for Best Foreign Language Film since Espain had chosen The Sea Inside as its potential nominee this year (I think each country gets to put up only one film).

Yes, yes, every year I claim to have "stopped caring" about these silly AMPAS awards... but somehow it's just so much fun to see who's on da lis'. At some point, it's probably just better to relish the list of nominees and not care about who gets the final prize.

Ah, such trifles to be spending time on...


= = = = = = = = = = =
previous entry
next entry