~ kusala
[ ku-sa-la: Pali term meaning wholesome, skillful, good, meritorious. ]
[ Action characterized by this quality (kusala-kamma) is bound to result (eventually) in happiness and a favorable outcome. ]
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

kusala.diaryland.com

2005-07-29 - 12:30 p.m.

Hafiz of Shiraz

I've had the extraordinary luck [but there are no coincidences...] to stumble upon the great Persian poet Hafiz of Shiraz (ca. 1320-1389) recently.

I never considered myself a huge fan of poetry, but that's really not the case. I am, and my new discovery has proven more than just sublime.

==========

Fear is the cheapest room in the house.
I would like to see you living
in better conditions.

For your mother and my mother
Were friends.

I know the Innkeeper
In this part of the universe.
Get some rest tonight,
Come to my verse again tomorrow.
We'll go speak to the Friend together.

I should not make any promises right now,
But I know if you
Pray
Somewhere in this world --
Something good will happen.

God wants to see
More love and playfulness in your eyes
For that is your greatest witness to Him.

Your soul and my soul
Once sat together in the Beloved's womb
Playing footsie.

Your heart and my heart
Are very, very old
Friends.


-Hafiz (Persia, 14th C.)
(translation by Daniel Ladinsky)


= = = = = = = = = = =
previous entry
next entry