~ kusala
[ ku-sa-la: Pali term meaning wholesome, skillful, good, meritorious. ]
[ Action characterized by this quality (kusala-kamma) is bound to result (eventually) in happiness and a favorable outcome. ]
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

kusala.diaryland.com

2005-12-29 - 10:05 p.m.

La Deluge de l'Est

Ok, ok, one rainy day does not a deluge make, but it rained all day today. I must say, I enjoy it when I'm able to drive around it it, protected from the elements. And I won't be driving much at all pretty soon, so I'm definitely enjoying that. The temperature was around fifty degrees, which seems positively balmy, or at least as temperate as the Bay Area. I must say, winter life in the Midlantic regions really doesn't seem so bad (but ask me how I'd feel if I were here as winter were dragging on into late April).

To be honest, I'm truly missing the lack of any snow during this visit. As I'm constantly telling people, at this time of year, sometimes it does and sometimes it doesn't. And this year, it hasn't. Though it had, a week before my arrival. And it probably will, soon after my departure. C'est l'hiver.

Due to the weather, and considering it's Mom's last day off this week, I decided to forego (can I really say "I forewent"?) my drive to Salem, Bridgeton, and beyond, and instead, we went shopping in Camden and Burlington counties. I wanted (of course I did) to check out the local branch of H&M, the Swedish clothing conglomerate, in the Cherry Hill Mall; I'd never been to one, and I'm now happy to have added some of their wares to my wardrobe. "Fashion and quality at the best price." Huzzah!

We also stopped at the local branch of Trader Joe's in Marlton, to which I'd introduced Mom last Christmas. While a bit smaller than the stores in Santa Barbara, it's comforting to feel their familiar presence here.

Though I missed out on that fresh lobster dinner I'd been craving (even though it's only $6.99/lb, dammit!), on the way home we stopped at a local diner, where I had the stuffed lobster tail (frozen, insipid, dry). Still, it's the company and thought that count at a time like this, so I'm not complaining.

Sadly, this week is drawing to a close. How is it that, at the start of a vacation, the days seem to stretch out before one so temptingly, yet they race by so fast? Hmm, kind of like life, yes? I'm trying not to be clingy or regretful. No, I won't go there.

It has been a good trip. It has.

I'm happy here, and I know I really need to figure out a way to come back.


= = = = = = = = = = =
previous entry
next entry