~ kusala
[ ku-sa-la: Pali term meaning wholesome, skillful, good, meritorious. ]
[ Action characterized by this quality (kusala-kamma) is bound to result (eventually) in happiness and a favorable outcome. ]
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

kusala.diaryland.com

2006-05-30 - 4:44 p.m.

Lap, Diaspora! Lift Faces on the Fly!

One of my favorite, and as you can see, well-remembered, newspaper headlines from the past several years.

OK, I actually had to google (v.) it for the exact phrasing, but I've invoked the memory of it several times in conversation.

From an article about the thriving business of plastic surgery for returning well-heeled expatriates in Tehran clinics, in no less than the venerable Los Angeles Times, circa January 2004, I give you:

Iran Diaspora Laps Up Bargain Botox,
Face-Lifts on the Fly

I didn't know a diaspora could "lap up" anything, or do anything so.... so.... transitively.

Now I know.


= = = = = = = = = = =
previous entry
next entry