~ kusala
[ ku-sa-la: Pali term meaning wholesome, skillful, good, meritorious. ]
[ Action characterized by this quality (kusala-kamma) is bound to result (eventually) in happiness and a favorable outcome. ]
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

kusala.diaryland.com

2005-05-12 - 4:52 p.m.

Snatched from the Jaws?

There are times, briefly, like right now, when it occurs to me that I might be very very very very sick at this moment, were it not for the Modern Pharmaceutical Empire.

How weird is that?

Better yet, is it really a true assessment, or am I kind of veering off into the histrionic? The truth is, last summer, my CD-4 count was barely hovering around 200. That's not red-alert level yet, but it was still kind of scary for me.

I read something recently (oh damn, I shouldn't reveal that I just remembered that the source was "O" magazine -- as in Oprah) about someone who said that The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying changed her life in terms of getting her to think about how to act when dealing frankly with the idea that none of us knows when "our time" may come.

Apparently there were assorted pearls of Eastern wisdom that exhorted one to think about how one would live if one knew for sure that one had only one day/week/month/year left to live. And, since one never knows if one has only one year/month/week/day left to live, why doesn't one make any necessary changes Right Now?

All this leads back to that question: What would I be doing with myself if this were The Last Year?

And, oh, that other question....

Why Am I Not Doing It?


= = = = = = = = = = =
previous entry
next entry