~ kusala
[ ku-sa-la: Pali term meaning wholesome, skillful, good, meritorious. ]
[ Action characterized by this quality (kusala-kamma) is bound to result (eventually) in happiness and a favorable outcome. ]
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

kusala.diaryland.com

2006-01-20 - 8:26 a.m.

Silkify Yourself

Preface: I feel so laaaazy just adding occasional "excerpts from what I'm reading right now" into this diary/blog, but sometimes I'm just not in the mood for transcribing and/or analyzing what's going on. I really need to get internet service (or, first, a functioning computer) at home (though that extra $60 or so per month comes in handy for wasting on other unaccountable/unaccounted frivolities, I'm sure).

Anyway, for a rundown of recent fun events (i.e., My Midwinter Trip to San Francisco), see Huntington for an accurate blow-by-blow (sans an accounting of all the gins-and-tonics that I imbibed on Sunday. [N.B.: does sans still warrant italicization, or has it achieved official Incorporation into our thoroughly francified (I was going to say "frankicized", but there were only 3 google results for that non-word) language?]

Hmmm, I guess this entry has become more than just a literary excerpt. And now, for the literary excerpt, which made me laugh on the bus this morning:

--------------

[Sister Wanda, Supreme Captain, Nation of Islam Temple No. 1, to Desdemona Stephanides, circa 1932:]

"So what we did was, we ordered these silkworms from a company. You know, mail order? We got more on the way. Problem is, they don't seem to like it here in De-troit. Don't blame 'em myself. They keep dying on us, and when they do? Ooowhee, what a stink! My sweet Jes--" She caught herself. "Just an expression. I was brought up Sanctified. Listen, what you say your name was?"

"Desdemona."

"Listen, Des, before I became Supreme Captain, I did hair and nails. Not no farmer's daughter, understand? This thumb look green to you? Help me out. What do these silkworm fellas like? How we get them to, you know, silkify?"

from Middlesex, Jeffrey Eugenides, �2002


= = = = = = = = = = =
previous entry
next entry