~ kusala
[ ku-sa-la: Pali term meaning wholesome, skillful, good, meritorious. ]
[ Action characterized by this quality (kusala-kamma) is bound to result (eventually) in happiness and a favorable outcome. ]
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

kusala.diaryland.com

2006-06-30 - 1:24 p.m.

Literary Quote of the Day: What Might Have Been

�But that doesn�t mean to say, of course, there aren�t occasions now and then�extremely desolate occasions�when you think to yourself: �What a terrible mistake I�ve made with my life.� And you get to thinking about a different life, a better life you might have had. For instance, I get to thinking about a life I may have had with you, Mr Stevens. And I suppose that�s when I get angry over some trivial little thing and leave. But each time I do so, I realize before long � my rightful place is with my husband. After all, there�s no turning back the clock now. One can�t be forever dwelling on what might have been. One should realize one has as good as most, perhaps better, and be grateful.�

~
The Remains of the Day, Kazuo Ishiguro, �1990


= = = = = = = = = = =
previous entry
next entry