~ kusala
[ ku-sa-la: Pali term meaning wholesome, skillful, good, meritorious. ]
[ Action characterized by this quality (kusala-kamma) is bound to result (eventually) in happiness and a favorable outcome. ]
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

kusala.diaryland.com

2006-08-16 - 10:56 a.m.

I Failed My Own "Dating Litmus Test"

I queried Huntington the other day about whether it was possible to have a fetish for people who could find Kyrgyzstan on a map.

I was being cheeky, but later, when I decided to open up an unlabeled map of Central Asia, I realized that, in my snootiness, I hadn't realized that I wasn't as adept at geography as I had thought. Woops. Guess I have no right to wear my Bishkek Coat of Arms t-shirt anymore.

I couldn't date me. Why would I expect someone else to want to -- much less someone who could actually find Kyrgyzstan on a map?

So OK, I revise my litmus test: I'll take someone who at least knows the general area of the globe to spin to to find Kyrgyzstan.
==============

Department of "He should be blaming Taco Bell"

I'm blaming my current meds, which I've been on since last June or so, for my goddamn paunch. Kyrgyzstan should be the least of my worries.

Since I've been walking a lot and taking the bus to and from work (mostly) since last September, I actually was feeling all fit and svelte for most of the winter and spring. Then, the day of reckoning came when I went to the doctor in May and discovered I had actually gained a few pounds.

Of course, the protease inhibitors are easier to blame than the fact that:
- I really don't work out at all (gay license=revoked)
- I subsisted almost all winter on breakfasts of Trader Joe's raisin toast smeared with peanut butter
- I've been eating subsidized lunches at the all-you-can-eat dining commons most of the year; moderation becomes relative in an environment like that

Sigh. Yeah, and I've promised to make an appearance in Guerneville for Labor Day weekend. I've been assured that the gays at the Russian River tend to be somewhat forgiving. Hmmm.

I still can't get over remembering that I weighed something like 128 pounds when I graduated from high school. I'm sure that's just because I wasn't nearly so muskul�s back then. Yup.

PS: I totally have not eaten a Mexican Pizza for, like, nine or ten years.


= = = = = = = = = = =
previous entry
next entry