~ kusala
[ ku-sa-la: Pali term meaning wholesome, skillful, good, meritorious. ]
[ Action characterized by this quality (kusala-kamma) is bound to result (eventually) in happiness and a favorable outcome. ]
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

kusala.diaryland.com

2006-09-11 - 9:30 a.m.

Freudenschade, or Frieden-Freude

I am really just so not feeling all this anniversary crap. You already know that I 'hate freedom,' so it should come as no surprise. I understand the desire to "remember", but do we need total media saturation 24-7 for the week leading up to and the day of? I want to be respectful of the fact that everyone needs to grieve in different ways; my suggestion, however, is to say: let's bow our heads for a solemn moment or two and get on with it. Remembering the past is not the same as reliving every detail.


Sounds of Summer

[sigh] I guess summer really is over... and how fast it went by. I'm sure we'll enjoy plenty of warm days into late October or early November, but there's definitely a change in the air. Not to mention the fact that it's still dark until almost 6:30am and that's a major part of the reason I can't get my ass out of bed by 6:00, as I should.

In any case, y'all can have your "Sexyback" and "Stars are Blind," but I have to say that, thanks to KCRW's heavy rotation, my song of summer was most definitely Lily Allen's "LDN" (click here for video). Love how it's so fun, yet so dark.

Ahh, summer.

"Sun is in the sky, Oh why oh why would I wanna be anywhere else?"


(thanks to homo eclectic for the link)


= = = = = = = = = = =
previous entry
next entry