~ kusala
[ ku-sa-la: Pali term meaning wholesome, skillful, good, meritorious. ]
[ Action characterized by this quality (kusala-kamma) is bound to result (eventually) in happiness and a favorable outcome. ]
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

kusala.diaryland.com

2006-10-06 - 10:04 a.m.

Eclectica

Some music I've been digging lately:


Kronos Quartet & Asha Bhosle: You've Stolen My Heart

Bollywood mixed with some great string riffs by Kronos. Asha Bhosle is amazing -- even in her seventies -- and the tracks "Dum Maro Dum," "Ekta Deshlai Kathi Jwalao," and "Piya Tu Ab To Aaja" have been played repeatedly on my stereo lately. I may even have been spied doing some Aamir Khan dance moves in my living room. [Check out audio clips of the Kronos/Bhosle versions by clicking the image above, or the original R.D. Burman versions at http://www2.dishant.com/]



Dengue Fever

I've been hearing this L.A. band quite a bit recently on KCRW (which has definitely become my favorite radio station, hands-down, since it erected a transmission tower in SB a couple of years ago; and yes, I know: "Radio... how charmingly quaint."). Anyway, I don't actually own any Dengue albums [I'm a product of my era] CDs yet, but their Khmer-surf-guitar-Ethiopian-pop-esque stylings are infectious. Some excellent tunes can be heard on KCRW's website in an archived edition of their in-studio appearance. Good stuff.


= = = = = = = = = = =
previous entry
next entry